District Overview

No Image

From the beginning of the 7th century Rajput kingdoms dominated Eastern portions of Pakistan and northern India. In 997 CE, Sultan Mahmud Ghaznavi, took over the Ghaznavid dynasty empire established by his father, Sultan Sebuktegin, In 1005. He conquered the Shahis in Kabul in 1005, and followed it by the conquests of some western Punjab region. Eastern Regions of Punjab from Multan to the Rawalpindi in the north remained under Rajput rule until 1193. The Delhi Sultanate and Mughal Empire later ruled the region. The Punjab region became predominantly Muslim due to missionary Sufi saints whose dargahs dot the landscape of Punjab region. Khanewal, previously a subdivision of Multan District, attained the status of a district on 1st of July, 1985. It comprises four subdivisions, namely, Khanewal, Kabirwala, Mian Channu and Jahanian, having 18 police stations and 3 police posts. Mian Channu subdivision was carved out of old Khanewal subdivision at that time Kabirwala was detached from district Multan and attached to the newly created district.

You May Like